Commercial scyllarids

Ehud Spanier, Kari L. Lavalli

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review


Among the 20 genera and at least 88 species constituting the four subfamilies of Scyllaridae, only members of four genera, Thenus (Theninae), Scyllarides (Arctidinae), Ibacus and Parribacus (Ibacinae), form any kind of signifi cant fishery because of the large size of individuals. Although scientific knowledge on commercial slipper lobsters has increased considerably in the recent few decades, it is still limited compared with that for commercially valuable spiny and clawed lobsters and is based on studies from a handful of species. The present chapter presents the current available knowledge on the taxonomy, anatomy, distribution, ecology, life history, behaviour, and fisheries of commercial scyllarids belonging to the above four genera. While some advances had been made in aquaculture of one species (Thenus orientalis) insuffi cient information on slipper lobster biology and ecology, lack of fisheries regulations and trends of reduced annual production of several exploited taxa call for the need for focused studies on these lobsters.

Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationLobsters: Biology, Management, Aquaculture & Fisheries: Second Edition
Number of pages53
ISBN (Electronic)9781118517444
ISBN (Print)9780470671139
StatePublished - 29 Jul 2013

Bibliographical note

Publisher Copyright:
© 2006, 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.


  • Behaviour
  • Ecology
  • Fisheries
  • Ibacus
  • Life history
  • Parribacus
  • Scyllarides
  • Slipper lobsters
  • Taxonomy
  • Thenus

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • General Engineering
  • General Agricultural and Biological Sciences


Dive into the research topics of 'Commercial scyllarids'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this